December Award Winners

Last Thursday, December 11, 22 artists were awarded honors at the opening reception for the December All-Media Membership Show.

Valentina by Teresa Oaxaca received The Marker Award for Best in Show. Juror Fritz Briggs of the Schuler School of Art in Baltimore commented that, “the anatomy is perfect” in this piece. The John Prignano Memorial Award went to Rachel B. Collins for Brassica Bravura. Briggs felt that, “the patterns in this piece are interesting.”

Valentina, Teresa Oaxaca

The following artists were awarded Honorable Mention:

  • Edward J. Reed for End of the Beginning (First Place)
  • Jill Banks for The Writer
  • Lesa Cook for Richard Avera
  • Leigh Culver for Vase of Flowers with Quilt
  • Nancy Lee Davis for Whose Home
  • Carolyn Grosse Gawarecki for Star Berries
  • Rana Geralis for Yellow Bouquet
  • Bonita Glaser for Great Puttney, Bath
  • Elisabeth Hudgins for Leaf Impressions V
  • Eva Jacob for Winter Sun on the Canal
  • Emilie McBride for Quiet Evening
  • Margaret Pearson for Blue Queue
  • Jacqueline Saunders for J.J.’s Farewell
  • Florence Setzer for Sentry Post
  • Mary Ann Stevens for After the Parade
  • Katherine Sullivan for Dark Beauties
  • Peter Ulrich for Work Boats
  • Karen Vaitiskis for Peeking Cat
  • C. Charles Wang for Nude Study A
  • Harriet Westfall for Paris Grays

Of 641 submissions, Mr. Briggs accepted 144 pieces. He was extremely impressed with the overall quality and variety of the work submitted. Read all the juror’s comments here or view the award images.

The December All-Media Membership Show will be on display through January 5, along with Carlos Beltran Baldiviezo’s solo show, Virtue Sin & the Balance Within, which has been noted in Daily Campello Art News, Shauna Lee Lange Arts Advisory blog and Express.

Post A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *