Grant for Fairfax County Artists

Strauss Fellowships for Individual Artists
Application Deadline: January 19, 2009

Named for Bill Strauss (1947-2007), gifted writer, co-founder of the Capitol Steps and the Cappies, the Strauss Fellowships for Individual Artists support and encourage Fairfax County’s finest creative artists in all disciplines and recognize professional working artists’ achievements and their demonstrated history of accomplishments; they promote artists’ continued pursuit of their creative work.

Grants workshop: January 6, 2009
Grant Application Deadline: January 19, 2009
Download Guidelines and Application in a PDF or in Word at

The Arts Council offers free grant writing workshops to applicants prior to grant application deadlines. All applicants, particularly first time applicants, are strongly encouraged to attend.

The 2008 Strauss Fellowship Recipients (some of which are or have been Art League members) were:
Jill Banks
Michael Travis Childers
Eileen Doughty
Linda Hesh
Kristin Johnsen-Neshati
Rebecca Kamen
Elizabeth Anne Kendall
Marni Maree
Lilianne Milgrom
Yoshiko Ratliff
Bryan Rojsuontikul
Susan Shields

For more information about the Arts Council’s grants, please contact Jeannette Thomas, Grants Administrator, at or at (703) 642-0862, ext. 4.

Post A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *